President Trump Introduces 30-Day Travel Ban from 28 European Countries

US President Donald Trump, who had previously repeatedly downplayed the threat of the Covid-19 virus, announced the suspension of all travel to the USA for 30 days from midnight on Friday 13 March by foreign nationals who have been in the 26 countries of the Schengen area during the 14 days before their planned arrival in the USA. In what could be regarded as ‘the final nail in the coffin’, he later extended the ban to include the UK and Ireland.

Worldometers is currently reporting 4,743 cases and 93 deaths in the USA. However, those numbers are expected to skyrocket as more testing is done.

The USA’s current rate of cases, at 14.3 per one million population, is higher than some of the 26 Schengen countries.

Leave a Reply